Help! Steam TF2 File Error!

Discussion in 'Technology Talk & Help' started by SwankMaster, May 9, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. So the title pretty much explains it self. For some reason I keep getting these errors when I try to start up Team Fortress 2.

Error: Setup file 'gameinfo.txt' doesn't exist in subdirectory 'tf', Check your -game paramter or VCONFIG setting.

And I have NO idea that to do, I mean I'm not very good with this. So I am..pretty confused:confused:. So I'm asking for help, what should I do to fix this error so I can play TF2?!?!?!

Thank you:(.

Posted May 9, 2013
  2. Player#1

Player#1 Member

If your missing files for whatever reason you should reinstall tf2 unless you have tried that already.

Posted May 9, 2013
  3. You mean uninstall reinstall? I thought if I uninstalled TF2 I would lose everything. (No I didn't try it XD)

Posted May 9, 2013
  4. Cpt. Hopi

Cpt. Hopi Recruit

Try validating your files before anything

Posted May 9, 2013
    • Like Like x 1
  5. And...how..do I do that...

Posted May 9, 2013
  6. Cpt. Hopi

Cpt. Hopi Recruit

In the steam program, right click on Team Fortress 2, click properties, then local files (something like that) then click Validate Files.

Posted May 9, 2013
  7. Suffering

Suffering Recruit

After you try Cpt. Hopi's method, if it doesn't work uninstalling tf2 and re-installing TF2 will NOT get rid of ANY of your items. The only thing it will get rid of is your stats when you log onto a server, those bars on the left or right hand side of the loading screen, everything else is kept on your steam profile. TF2 items are kept in your Steam inventory under the TF2 tab, regardless if you have TF2 or not if you have played it before it will give you the steam inventory tab that you will have forever.

Posted May 9, 2013
  8. Thank guys I got it working :D! But now I got ALOT of lag for some reason....but I got TF2 back. So thanks alot!

Posted May 9, 2013
  9. Suffering